Bohemian Definition


File:Pierre-Auguste Renoir - En été (La Bohémienne).jpg

Pierre-Auguste Renoir - En été (La Bohémienne)

Wikipedia defines a Bohemian as

A Bohemian (/bəʊˈhiːmɪən) is a resident of the former Kingdom of Bohemia, either in a narrow sense as the region of Bohemia proper or in a wider meaning as the whole country, now known as the Czech Republic.

More to the matter

Bohemianism is the practice of an unconventional lifestyle, often in the company of like-minded people, with few permanent ties, involving musical, artistic or literary pursuits. In this context, Bohemians can be wanderers, adventurers, or vagabonds.

My parents both called me that when I was very young, and though I didn’t really understand it (and they obviously meant it in a dissaproving manner) I liked the sound of it. Many years later after my military time I was again free to express my own style and again I had more than one occassion I people refered to me with this description.

I suppose I liked the sound of it still but was somewhat against being “labeled” so I showed as little interest as possible in encouraging that. However, it has stuck and mow I seem to be at ease with it, so hence this blogs name.

Leave a comment